Juneau City GuideAn Independent Juneau Guide Map
A ticket machine and visitor centre signage at a Juneau attraction entrance

Juneau Tickets: Every Gate And Every Excursion

The Juneau attractions tickets catalogue is unusually short and unusually cheap at the official end: exactly one attraction charges admission on its own terms, the Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area at $5 a day, and everything else a visitor pays for is either a tour or a price nobody currently publishes. This page indexes the catalogue: the official fares and their gaps, the tram that sells nothing while closed, and the tour groups worth money, anchored to the pages that own each subject. The checked date on every figure on this page is. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together.

Quick answer The one official fee, the prices nobody publishes, and where the money really goes

One official admission exists: the $5 Mendenhall day pass, 1 May to 30 September, ages 15 and under free, sold at the lot machines with no reservation system. The Alaska State Museum and the salmon hatchery set their own prices that this run could not verify, and the Mount Roberts Tramway sells no tickets while closed. Everything else in the catalogue is a tour, from $30 walks to $1,600 floatplane days.

Key takeaways

The Official Catalogue: Every Gate And Its Price

Is the thing you want a gate with a fee, a gate with a gap, or a tour in disguise? Every attraction a visitor can buy into directly, with the price each official source printed, read for this guide. Where a source publishes nothing, the table says so rather than borrowing a number.

Attraction Official price Status Booked where
Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area (USFS) $5 day pass per person, 1 May to 30 September; 15 and under free; season pass $15 Open on the east side; west side still assessed after the August flood At the lot machines or the bookstore; no online sale, per the USFS page
Alaska State Museum Not stated: the museum's official site rejected automated checks this run, so no figure is printed Open per the state's museum system; hours and fares unverified here At the door or via the state museum page
Macaulay Salmon Hatchery Not stated: no admission figure on the pages this run could read Operating in season per the DMO's listings At the door; the hatchery page carries what is known
Mount Roberts Tramway (Goldbelt Tram) Not stated: no fare published while closed Closed since 30 April 2026; lower terminal open and free Nothing to buy; the status line is on the official site
Juneau-Douglas City Museum, Last Chance Mining Museum, churches and the Capitol Free or unstated per venue; the Capitol's summer tours are guided weekday afternoons and no free-claim is printed Check each page; closures and seasons vary At the door; routes on the downtown page

Official rows carry the sources' own figures or the reason no figure exists. The $5 pass is the only fee this run could verify to the dollar, which makes it the cheapest paid admission in the catalogue by an order of magnitude (the pass mechanics).

The Tour Money, Grouped By Kind

Water, ice, air or ground: which kind of Juneau money spends best on your day? The inventory grouped the way a buyer chooses: the whale water, the glacier pairings, the air products, the paddle work and the ground tours, priced from the platform listings read for this guide.

Group From To The anchor card
Whale watching (the hub) $107.80, 3 hours, 4.8 from 664 reviews $229.95 with the glacier added The whale cruise with snacks
Glacier land days (Mendenhall) $131.06 city-and-glacier $376.95 ice adventure The glacier and whale combo
Air products (flightseeing, helicopters) $382.66 five-glacier seaplane $429 helicopter landing The 5-glacier seaplane
Paddle days (kayak and canoe) $189 wetlands kayak $376.95 canoe-and-hike The Mendenhall Lake canoe
Ground tours (the tours hub) $30 haunted walk $524.99 scenic road trip The city highlights bus

Prices, ratings and durations are the platform listings' own, read for this guide. Each group's hub page carries the full card-by-card comparison; this table is the index, not the detail.

The Six Cards That Carry The Money

The six listings most Juneau days are actually built around: the whale cruise, the glacier combos, the seaplane, the helicopter, the canoe and the city bus, each linked and priced.

Passengers on a whale watching cruise in Juneau watching a humpback surface from $107.80

From Juneau: Whale Watching Cruise with Snacks

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.8(664 reviews)· 3 hours

Auke Bay whale cruise

Check Availability
Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $185

Juneau: Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.7(200 reviews)· 4 hours

Whale cruise + Mendenhall stop

Check Availability
A helicopter landing on a Juneau Icefield glacier during a Juneau helicopter glacier tour from $429

Juneau Helicopter Glacier Landing Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.9(71 reviews)

Helicopter glacier landing

Check Availability
A floatplane over the Juneau Icefield on a Juneau flightseeing tour from $382.66

Juneau: 5-Glacier Flightseeing Discovery by Seaplane

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 5.0(26 reviews)· 40 minutes

Five-glacier seaplane

Check Availability
Paddlers in a canoe on Mendenhall Lake during a Juneau kayaking and canoeing tour from $250.95

Juneau: Mendenhall Lake Canoe Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.9(57 reviews)· 4 hours

Mendenhall Lake canoe

Check Availability
A small tour bus group on a Juneau sightseeing tour downtown from $51.45

Juneau: City Highlights Bus Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.5(130 reviews)

City highlights bus

Check Availability

Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.

Ship Excursion Against Independent Booking

The first decision every cruise passenger makes, made honestly.

The ship's excursion desk sells three things the platform does not: the guarantee that the boat waits if your tour runs late, one-click booking before you sail, and cabin-charge convenience. Those are worth real money on a day when the all-aboard time is the deadline that rules them all.

The independent route sells everything else. The same operators' products appear on the platforms at their own prices; the whale cruise that anchors this page's table runs $107.80 there, and the reviews a buyer can read number in the hundreds rather than the ship's brochure copy. Cancellation terms are typically freer: most platform listings cancel free up to 24 hours out, which is the practical cure for the weather-and-schedule uncertainty a Juneau day carries (the rain page).

The rule of thumb this page draws: book the ship for the once-a-port, tight-return products where lateness risk is catastrophic and the ship bundles the transfer, and book independently for everything else. A whale cruise that returns an hour before sailing is a platform purchase; a floatplane day that lands back at the dock forty minutes before the gangway is a conversation with the ship's desk.

The port-day clock

Whatever the seller, Juneau excursions are built backwards from the ships. Meeting points cluster at or near the berths on South Franklin Street, departures bunch around dockings, and durations fit a port window by design. The city that receives 20,000 visitors a day from five ships has organised its whole bookable inventory around that fact (the cruise port picture).

The Morning-Slot Problem

Why the 08:00 and 09:00 departures are the scarce currency of a Juneau port day.

Every excursion's duration is fixed but the day is not: a 4.5-hour glacier-and-whale combo at 14:00 ends at 18:30, which is fine on a 21:00 all-aboard and impossible on an early sailing. The result is structural: morning slots are the ones every ship's earliest gangways feed into, and they sell first on every product that runs them.

The practical consequences, in order of how often they bite: the early whale departures go first because they leave the afternoon free for the glacier or the town; the flightseeing weather window favours mornings, so the calm-air slots vanish weeks ahead in July and August; and the small-group products, the 20-passenger catamaran among them, simply have fewer seats per departure, so their mornings thin out fastest (the whale boats compared).

The counter-moves that work: book the morning slot the day your cruise is booked, not the week before sailing; if the morning is gone, take the first departure that still clears your all-aboard by an hour; and treat a late-afternoon city-bus tour like the highlights loop as the flexible slot that always exists because it is short, cheap and frequent.

What Sells Out, And What Never Does

The scarcity map of the catalogue, so the booking energy goes where it matters.

Sells out first: flightseeing and helicopters. The air products carry the smallest capacity in the catalogue, a handful of passengers per departure, and the weather cancels that reshape their schedules make the good-weather slots scarcer still. The listings mark them accordingly; a July five-glacier seaplane booked on arrival day is a hope, not a plan (the flightseeing page).

Sells out in season: whale mornings and small-group water. The standard whale cruises run large boats and absorb cruise volume, but the small catamarans and the premium paddle days sell their limited seats days out in peak season. The listings' own 'likely to sell out' flags are accurate.

Never sells out: the $5 pass. The Mendenhall day pass is a machine in a parking lot with no reservation system behind it. On the busiest five-ship morning of the summer, the constraint at the glacier is parking and trail space, not admission. Combine it with the bus-and-walk or a rental car and the cheapest full Juneau day is always available (the pass rules).

Also never sells out: the free catalogue. The Capitol's guided weekday afternoon tours, the downtown's walkable sights and the waterfront cost nothing and take walk-ups (free things to do).

The Tram Line In The Catalogue, And Other Gaps

What a closed attraction does to a ticket page, and the other prices this run could not verify.

The Mount Roberts Tramway row in the catalogue reads 'closed' rather than a price, and that is the correct entry: a tramway that has not run since the accident of 30 April 2026 sells no tickets, and printing an old fare would misprice a product that may relaunch at a new one. The tram's story, and the lower terminal that stays open and free, are on the tramway page.

Two other rows carry honest gaps. The Alaska State Museum's own site rejected automated checks this run, so its admission is printed as not stated rather than borrowed from a blog; the state's museum page is the authority (museums.alaska.gov). The Macaulay Salmon Hatchery's admission did not surface on the pages this run could read, and the same rule applies (the hatchery page).

The pattern worth naming: Juneau's official attractions either charge a small, verifiable fee or publish nothing this run could confirm. The absence is not indifference, it is the structure of a port town whose paid experiences are mostly tours sold by operators, with the public gates kept cheap or free.

When the prices resolve

The museum and hatchery figures are one hand-fetch each away from printed, and the tram fare is one reopening away. This page's checked date,, is the stamp on every gap; a reader arriving later should treat any of the three as the first thing to re-verify, and the official rows in the catalogue as the places to look.

Where The Catalogue Splits Into Detail

Four pages carry the depth behind the rows above. Or start again at the Juneau city guide.

Mendenhall Glacier tickets

The $5 pass's rules, the season, and the cruise-day arithmetic (the glacier tickets page).

The money row

Mount Roberts Tramway tickets

Why no fare is published, what the bundles listed, and refund terms (the tram tickets page).

The closed row

Juneau tours

The full inventory grouped and ranked, beyond the six cards above (the tours hub).

The whole list

Cruise port

The berths, the schedule mechanics and the port day everything here plugs into (the cruise port page).

The clock behind it all

Juneau Tickets: Questions

What is a must see in Juneau?

The catalogue's two headline rows: the Mendenhall Glacier, the only road-accessible glacier in Southeast Alaska at $5 a head, and the whale water of Auke Bay, where about 600 humpbacks summer. The whale-and-glacier combo covers both in one booked day; the official table prices each separately.

Can you walk around Juneau from a cruise ship?

Yes: downtown Juneau is about six walkable blocks deep, with the museums, the Capitol, the church and the saloon all inside that square mile, and the berths sit at its edge. What is not walkable is the glacier, 13 miles out, which is what the tours and buses on the catalogue are for (the downtown route).

How much does it cost to ride the Mount Roberts Tramway in Juneau?

Not currently answerable: the Goldbelt Tram has been closed since 30 April 2026, no fare is published, and no ticket is sold. The closure and the free lower terminal are documented on the tram tickets page.

What can you do in Juneau from a cruise ship for free?

The downtown walk, the Capitol's guided weekday afternoon summer tours, the churches, the waterfront and the whale sculpture all cost nothing, and outside the 1 May to 30 September season the Mendenhall Recreation Area charges no pass either (the free list).

Do I need to book Juneau excursions in advance?

The scarce ones, yes: flightseeing, helicopters and small-group whale mornings sell out in peak season, and the listings flag them. The $5 glacier pass never sells out and needs no booking at all (what sells out).

Is it cheaper to book tours on the ship or independently?

Independently, usually, for the same operators' products, with freer cancellation and readable reviews; the ship's desk buys the late-return guarantee and pre-cruise convenience. The rule this page draws is on the ship-versus-independent section.

What do Juneau tours cost?

The inventory runs from $30 for the haunted-history walk to $1,600 for the floatplane bear day, with the money cards clustered between the $107.80 whale cruise and the $429 helicopter landing (the group table).

Start With The Water, Then Buy The Gate

The whale watching cruise with snacks is the catalogue's best-reviewed value card: $107.80, rated 4.8 from 664 reviews, three hours with free cancellation per the listing.

Tour prices are the operators' own and confirmed at checkout; the official $5 glacier pass is paid on site and never needs booking.

Check Availability

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure