Juneau City GuideAn Independent Juneau Guide Map
The ticket machine and visitor center entrance at the Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area parking lot

Mendenhall Glacier Tickets And The $5 Pass

The Mendenhall Glacier tickets question confuses people because there is almost nothing to buy: no reservation system, no timed entry, no turnstile at the gate. What exists is a US Forest Service day pass, $5 per person from 1 May to 30 September, sold at machines in the parking lots, with ages 15 and under free. The rest of the money a visitor spends on Mendenhall goes to transport and guides, and that is where the tour listings on this page come in. The checked date on every figure here is. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together.

Quick answer What the pass costs, who skips it, and if anything needs booking

Mendenhall Glacier tickets mean one thing: the $5 USFS day pass, per person, from 1 May to 30 September. Ages 15 and under are free, America the Beautiful, Senior and Military passes are accepted, and there is no reservation system, no timed entry and nothing to book in advance. You buy at the automated machines in the parking lots or the Discovery Southeast bookstore inside the visitor center.

Key takeaways

Key facts

Opening hours

Pass required1 May to 30 September only; no pass outside those dates
Visitor center, summer09:00–18:00
Grounds and trails06:00 to midnight, year-round, no pass needed before 1 May or after 30 September

Closed None for the grounds; the visitor center drops to Friday and Saturday only, 10:00 to 16:00, from November to March, per USFS

Admission

Adult
$5 day pass per person, 1 May to 30 September; season pass $15 covers holder plus one guest; America the Beautiful, Senior and Military passes accepted
Free
Ages 15 and under

Official ticket office →

Planning it

Time needed
The pass itself takes a minute at the machine; the visit it covers runs about 90 minutes to half a day
Book ahead
Recommended — a few days
Address
Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center, Glacier Spur Road, Mendenhall Valley, Juneau, AK 99801

Official Pass Against The Glacier Tours

The official Forest Service pass first, then the platform listings that bundle Mendenhall with transport, whales or paddles, priced as printed on the USFS page and the listings read for this guide.

Do you already have wheels and a plan, or is the glacier one stop on a day you are buying whole?

OptionPriceWhat it coversFor whom Book
USFS day passThe independent visitor; at $5 it is the cheapest paid attraction in Juneau by a factor of twenty $5 per person, 1 May to 30 September; 15 and under free Visitor center, Pavilion, Photo Point, Steep Creek boardwalks; most other trails fee-free Drivers, taxi riders and the bus-and-walk brigade; everyone who arranges their own transport Official site
Glacier and whale watching comboCruise passengers without a car who want both sights handled $185 4 hours: bus transport, glacier free time at the visitor center, whale cruise The one-day visitor buying the two headline sights as one booking Check Availability
Waterfall and whale watching tourAnyone who wants the falls walked, not photographed from afar $199 5 hours: Nugget Falls hike built in, plus the whale cruise with hot drinks Visitors set on reaching the falls on foot, not just the viewpoint Check Availability
Glacier ice adventureTravellers who want the glacier under their boots, not across the lake $376.95 5 hours, small group: canoe across the lake, trek the moraine, ice up close The premium close-up; fitness required, 5-star rated across 38 reviews Check Availability
E-bike glacier tourActive visitors who would rather pedal than sit in a bus $182 3 hours by e-bike through the rainforest to glacier viewpoints Riders who want effort-adjusted mobility and a guide Check Availability
City tour and glacier shore excursionPrice-first buyers who accept the trade the review score describes $131.06 3 hours: narrated drive along Gastineau Channel plus 1.5 hours at the glacier The budget guided option, though its 2.6 rating from 4 reviews is a warning in itself Check Availability

The official row is a plain, untracked link to the USFS visitor center page. Tour rows are affiliate listings; prices are the operators' own, read for this guide, and none of them bundles the $5 pass, so carry it separately unless the listing says entry is included. What each tour actually does at the glacier is on the attraction page.

The Glacier Listings In Full

The five cards whose itineraries name the Mendenhall Recreation Area, from the platform inventory, each with its own price, rating and cancellation terms.

Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $185

Juneau: Mendenhall Glacier and Whale Watching Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.7(200 reviews)· 4 hours

Whale cruise + Mendenhall stop

Check Availability
Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $199

Juneau: Mendenhall Glacier Waterfall & Whale Watching Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.8(360 reviews)· 5 hours

Nugget Falls + whales

Check Availability
Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $376.95

Juneau: Mendenhall Glacier Ice Adventure Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 5.0(38 reviews)· 5 hours

Glacier ice trek

Check Availability
Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $182

Juneau: Mendenhall Glacier E-Bike Tour

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 5.0(7 reviews)· 3 hours

E-bike to the glacier

Check Availability
Visitors at the Mendenhall Glacier viewpoint in Juneau with icebergs on the lake from $131.06

Juneau Shore Excursion: City Tour & Mendenhall Glacier

★★★★★ ★★★★★ 2.6(4 reviews)· 3 hours

Shore excursion city + glacier

Check Availability

Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.

The Pass Rules, One By One

Every question a visitor actually asks about the Mendenhall day pass, answered from the USFS page and the DMO, with the gaps marked.

Who pays and who does not. Everyone 16 and older pays $5 per day from 1 May to 30 September. Ages 15 and under are free. Holders of the America the Beautiful pass, the Senior pass and the Military pass enter free under the federal interagency rules; the pass covers the cardholder, and the USFS page does not state whether it extends to vehicle companions, so ask at the bookstore rather than assume.

The season is real. The pass exists from 1 May to 30 September only. Outside those dates the recreation area charges nothing, which makes October to April one of the better free-thing facts in a town that has a whole page of them (free things to do).

Where it is sold. Two places only: the automated machines in the parking lots, and the Discovery Southeast bookstore inside the visitor center. There is no online sale and no downtown sales point, so do not get on the glacier bus without a payment plan for the machine.

What it covers. The Pavilion area, Photo Point and the Steep Creek trails. Most other trails in the recreation area are fee-free; the pass is about the developed visitor center complex, not the forest around it.

No reservation system exists. This is the sentence most third-party sites get wrong: there is no timed entry, no booking portal, no reservation fee. The USFS page mentions none, and none exists. Arrive, pay at the machine, walk in.

The season pass, for the repeat case

At $15, the season pass covers the holder plus one guest for the whole 1 May to 30 September window. It pays for itself on the fourth visit, which sounds niche until you remember cruise passengers re-booking Juneau, residents and long-stay workers all pass through this lot repeatedly. It is sold at the same machines and bookstore as the day pass.

Cruise-Day Arithmetic: Pass Plus Transport

What the glacier actually costs a cruise passenger once the transport is priced in, option by option.

The pass is never the expensive part. Work the day through from the docks and the real spread shows:

- Rental car day: the pass at $5 a head on top of the car. Parking at the visitor center is free and plentiful, per the DMO. For a family of four this is the cheapest guided-free day that exists. - Taxi both ways: the pass plus the cab fare, which no official source prints, so get the round-trip price from the driver before you get in. - City bus plus walk: $2 cash each way per adult, $1 youth, then the 1.5-mile walk down Glacier Spur Road. The cheapest day in Juneau after the walk is priced in shoe leather. There is no day pass on Capital Transit; singles only. - A booked combo: the listings on this page run from $131.06 to $376.95 per person. $131.06 to $376.95 per person from the listings on the table, with transport, guide and usually the whale half included, and the $5 pass either included or left to you, line by line on each listing.

The break-even question is time, not money: a combo compresses the glacier into a fixed block that returns you to the berth on schedule, and on a five-ship day that schedule is worth more than the $150 spread between it and the DIY routes (the cruise port schedule picture).

Where Visitors Get The Tickets Wrong

Four recurring mistakes, each cheap to avoid once named.

  • Pre-booking a 'ticket' from a third-party site that is really a tour. No official online ticket exists; if a site sells Mendenhall 'admission' online, it is reselling transport plus entry. Buy the pass at the machine and book transport separately, or book a real combo.
  • Assuming the pass covers the whole valley. It covers the Pavilion, Photo Point and Steep Creek; most other trails are fee-free anyway, so nothing is lost, but the West Glacier trailhead across the lake is a different access entirely.
  • Forgetting the season. From 1 October to 30 April the pass is not charged at all; nobody should be buying a $5 'ticket' online for a winter visit.
  • Counting on the machines on a five-ship morning. The machines take cards and rarely queue long, but the bookstore counter inside the visitor center is the human fallback if one is out of order.

The Flood, The Closure, And What You Might Be Buying Into

August's emergency closure changed the ticket picture for the rest of the season; here is where it stands.

On 12 August 2026 the Forest Service closed the entire recreation area because of glacial lake outburst flooding from Suicide Basin. That closure is the one thing that supersedes every ticket rule on this page: when the area closes, the pass machines, the visitor center and the trails all go with it, and a tour booked for that day becomes a refund conversation rather than a visit.

As of the position is: the visitor center and adjacent trails including the Nugget Falls Trail are open again, and the west side of the lake is still being assessed by USFS. No reopening date is published for the west side. If you are booking a product that uses the west side, the ice adventure canoe trip among them, read the operator's cancellation terms first; the platform listings on this page carry free-cancellation windows, and that is the protection that matters in a flood season (the full flood timeline).

Refunds And Cancellation, Seller By Seller

What each kind of seller does when plans change, so the booking decision is made with the exit visible.

The $5 pass: no refund, and in practice no problem; it is five dollars and it expires at midnight. There is nothing to cancel.

The platform tours: the listings on this page print free cancellation terms, most up to 24 hours before the start, and reserve-now-pay-later on most cards. That is the practical reason to book through a platform rather than a cruise line if your ship's schedule is uncertain: the cruise line's own excursions enforce stricter cut-offs.

The weather carve-out: Juneau rain is not a cancellation ground, it is the climate (the rain page); operators re-book or refund when they cancel for weather, not when you get wet. A GLOF closure order like August's is different: an official closure of the recreation area is the operator's problem, and their cancellation terms are the contract that handles it.

Tickets And Stops Nearby

Where the pass ends, three other booking pages begin. Or start again at the Juneau city guide.

Mendenhall Glacier attraction page

The trails, the flood timeline and the time budgets behind every option on the tickets table.

The attraction twin

Juneau tickets hub

Every ticketable thing in Juneau in one catalogue, official fares against tour prices: the tickets hub.

The catalogue

Whale watching

The other half of the combo tours, compared boat by boat: the whale watching hub.

The water twin

Mendenhall Glacier Tickets: Questions

Do I need a ticket for Mendenhall Glacier?

You need the $5 day pass per person from 1 May to 30 September; ages 15 and under are free. Outside those dates no pass is charged. There is no other ticket: no reservation, no timed entry, no online sale (the pass rules).

Where do I buy the Mendenhall Glacier pass?

At the automated machines in the parking lots or the Discovery Southeast bookstore inside the visitor center. Those are the only official sale points; there is no online purchase and no downtown kiosk (the pass rules).

Can you buy Mendenhall Glacier tickets in advance?

No advance purchase exists for the pass itself: no reservation system, no online portal. What you can book ahead is transport and guides, the tours on the table, which is where advance planning actually goes.

Does the America the Beautiful pass work at Mendenhall Glacier?

Yes: the USFS page names America the Beautiful, Senior and Military passes as accepted. The USFS page does not state whether a pass covers vehicle companions, so confirm at the bookstore counter (the pass rules).

How much are Mendenhall Glacier tours?

The platform listings that include the glacier run from $131.06 for the city-and-glacier shore excursion to $376.95 for the small-group ice adventure, with the whale combos at $185 and $199. Prices are the operators' own, read for this guide (the tour table).

Is the Mendenhall Glacier pass included in tours?

It depends on the listing: none of the five cards on this page state that the $5 pass is included, so treat it as your own purchase unless the operator's inclusions say otherwise. The pass is $5 and bought at the lot machine in a minute (the tour table).

What does the Mendenhall day pass cover?

The Pavilion, Photo Point and the Steep Creek trails, per the USFS page. Most other trails in the recreation area are fee-free regardless, so the pass is about the visitor center complex specifically (the pass rules).

Do children need a Mendenhall Glacier pass?

No: ages 15 and under are free, per the USFS page. Only visitors 16 and older buy the $5 day pass during the 1 May to 30 September season (the pass rules).

Have The Pass Sorted, Then Book The Day Around It

The Mendenhall Glacier and whale watching combo takes care of transport and the day's second headline for $185, rated 4.7 from 200 reviews, free cancellation per the listing.

The $5 forest pass is paid on site and is not part of the tour price; tour prices are confirmed at checkout.

Check Availability

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure