Juneau Costs
Juneau costs what an island town costs: everything arrives by air or sea, and the price tags show it. Juneau is expensive the way islands are expensive: everything in town arrives by barge or by air, and the price tags carry the freight. But the visitor economy also contains the cheapest transportation and the best free sightseeing of any Alaska port, so the honest answer to "how expensive is Juneau" is a spread, not a number. This page prices a Juneau day at three budgets from verifiable figures, and says who does not publish what: the milk question gets a straight answer, and it is not a price. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together.
Quick answer A $9 day, a $107 day, and the milk answer
Juneau can be done cheaply and expensively on the same day. The floor is real: downtown sightseeing is free, a Capital Transit ride costs $2, and the Mendenhall day pass is $5 in season, so a DIY glacier day costs about $9 a head. The ceiling is the tour book: whale cruises from $107.80, helicopter landings at $429, and the Pack Creek bear flight at $1,600. The island premium is structural: with no road connection, goods arrive by barge or plane, and groceries reflect it. How much a gallon of milk costs: nobody publishes it, not the city, not the DMO, not a state price sheet, and we print no invented figure.
Key takeaways
- The three-budget table prices the same Juneau day at the floor, the middle and the top, using real figures.
- The price list that can be verified, fares, passes and the full tour band, is in the price list.
- One tour anchor for the budget that includes it: the entry-level whale cruise at $107.80; the whole ladder sits on Juneau tours.
Who does not publish what: the missing price sheets
The most useful thing a costs page can do is name the figures that exist and the ones that do not. This is the honest map of Juneau's missing numbers, checked this run.
The gallon of milk first, because it is the question everyone asks. No official source publishes a grocery price list for Juneau: the City and Borough of Juneau publishes no cost-of-living sheet on its visitor-facing pages, the DMO publishes none, and the state's statistical offices serve statewide series rather than a Juneau milk price. What we can state is the mechanism and the store names: the town runs a Costco, a Safeway, a Fred Meyer and an IGA, and with no road connection everything on their shelves arrives by barge or by air, which is why island and bush Alaska prices run above road-connected cities. Print any precise milk figure you see online as somebody's anecdote; this page prints the mechanism instead.
The same honesty applies across the visitor's spend. Taxis publish no fare table; the airport, the city and the companies' own listings state none, so a taxi fare is a meter conversation. Rideshare prices in the app and nowhere else. Hotels price on booking channels that shift nightly, and no official page prints a seasonal rate card. The Alaska Marine Highway publishes no static fare table either; its own fares page routes every price query through the Sailing Search booking tool. Where this page quotes a number below, it comes from the transit operator, the Forest Service, the tours platform or the ferry system's own pages, each named.
The price list that can be verified
Every figure here is from an official page or the tours platform, read this run. This is the shortest and most reliable price list on the site.
The transport and gate prices first, because they anchor every budget: a Capital Transit single ride is $2 cash for adults, $1 for riders 18 and under, free for children 5 and under, with no day pass; the 20-ride app pack is $31.50. The Mendenhall Glacier Recreation Area charges $5 per person for its day pass from 1 May to 30 September, ages 15 and under free, with a $15 season pass; accepted passes include America the Beautiful, Senior and Military. Everything downtown, the Capitol, the church, the signed route, the waterfront, costs nothing.
The tour ladder is wider than most visitors expect. At the bottom, the haunted history walking tour sells at $30 for two hours. The city highlights bus loop runs $51.45. The whale watching cruise with snacks, the best-selling card on the platform, is $107.80. Combos pairing whales with the glacier run from $185 to $229.95. The flightseeing floor is the five-glacier seaplane at $382.66, the shared helicopter glacier landing is $429, and the Taku Lodge flight and feast is $532. The private-guided road trip is $524.99. At the top of the ladder, the Pack Creek brown bear adventure by floatplane is $1,600 for a six-hour day. Every price is the platform's own figure, checked on the date in the freshness box, and confirmed at checkout.
The band, sorted, so the ladder is visible at a glance.
| Spend | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Free downtown circuit | $0 | This site's verified list |
| Capital Transit ride | $2.00 | Operator fare sheet |
| Mendenhall day pass, in season | $5.00 | USFS |
| Haunted history walk | $30 | Tours platform |
| City highlights bus tour | $51.45 | Tours platform |
| Whale watching cruise | $107.80 | Tours platform |
| Whale and glacier combos | $185 to $229.95 | Tours platform |
| Five-glacier seaplane | $382.66 | Tours platform |
| Helicopter glacier landing | $429 | Tours platform |
| Pack Creek bear flight | $1,600 | Tours platform |
The ferry question: fares the system does not print
The Alaska Marine Highway is the state ferry system that connects Juneau to the rest of the coast, and it is also the cleanest example of a missing price sheet. The system's own fares page does not publish a fare table; it states plainly that fare information lives in the Sailing Search tool, which prices each sailing when you query it, and notes that cabins are sold per trip rather than per day and vary by size and location. The reservation window matters for planning: online bookings close four hours before departure at staffed terminals and fifteen minutes at unmanned ports.
What can be said without a fare figure: walk-on passengers travel cheaper than vehicle bookings, the ferry is the slow option that budgets reward, and the summer ferries out of Auke Bay are the underpinning of the day trips to Haines and the Glacier Bay route. For any actual fare, use the Sailing Search tool on the AMHS site for your date; that is where the state itself routes the question, and this page follows it rather than quoting third-party numbers of unknown date.
A Juneau day at three budgets
The same eight-hour port day, priced three ways from the verified figures above: what the frugal day costs, what the standard visitor day costs, and what the no-limits day costs. Tour rows use real platform prices; the transport rows use the operator's fares; the row that cannot be sourced says so.
| Line | Budget day | Standard day | No-limits day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Morning activity | Free downtown circuit, $0 | City highlights bus tour, $51.45 | Five-glacier seaplane, $382.66 |
| Midday activity | Waterfront and Juneau Voices, $0 | Whale watching cruise, $107.80 | Helicopter glacier landing, $429 |
| The glacier | $2 bus each way plus the $5 pass, $9 | Included in a whale and glacier combo, $185 | Mendenhall Lake canoe, $250.95 |
| Food for the day | Grocery picnic; prices not officially published | One sit-down meal at downtown prices; not officially published | The famous crab feast; not officially published |
| Local transport | $4 in bus rides | $4 to $8 in bus and one taxi; fare not stated | Taxis all day; fares not stated |
| Day total, excluding food | About $13 a head | About $348 a head | About $1,062 a head |
The arithmetic rows are ours and are labelled as such; every input figure is sourced in the price list, checked this run. The food row is deliberately a mechanism rather than a number, because no official source publishes menu or grocery prices for Juneau. The honest conclusion: the difference between the budgets is almost entirely the tour column, which is exactly where a visitor should decide deliberately.
The verdict on how expensive Juneau is
Expensive by comparison with the road system, cheap for Alaska. The freight premium is real and lands hardest on food and lodging; the state's biggest visitor port nonetheless sells its headline experience, the whale water, at $107.80, and its transportation floor at $2 a ride. A traveller who books one tour deliberately and self-runs the rest lands near the standard column above, and a traveller who books nothing still gets a day the budget table prices at about $13 with the glacier included.
The two mistakes cost money in both directions. Over-booking, three tours stacked into one port day, buys redundancy at $100-plus each. Under-spending on the glacier for a short port call, taking the $2 bus against a five-hour round trip, can cost a day that would have fit both the glacier and the town in a shuttle tour. The booking logic per port length is on the cruise port page, and the free-list trade it depends on is itemised on free things to do.
The two ends of the price ladder
The cheapest guided thing in town and the most expensive common booking, so the band above has two cards attached. Prices and ratings are the platform's own figures, checked this run.
from $30
from $51.45
Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
Where to go next
The free half of every budget
The itemised no-cost day, streets to trails: free things to do in Juneau.
$0 columnWhen prices shift
Shoulder months and the season's crowd arithmetic: best time to visit Juneau.
The timing leverJuneau costs: questions
Is it expensive in Juneau, Alaska?
It is expensive in food and lodging and cheap in transport and sightseeing: a full DIY day including the glacier costs about $13, while the same day built on tours runs into the hundreds. The mechanism is the island premium, goods arriving by barge or air. The three-budget comparison is in the budget table.
How much is a gallon of milk in Juneau?
Nobody publishes it: the city, the DMO and the state's visitor-facing pages print no grocery price sheet, so this page states the mechanism instead, freight by barge and air on a roadless town with a Costco, Safeway, Fred Meyer and IGA. What is published is in the price list.
How much do Juneau tours cost?
The verified band runs from $30 for the two-hour haunted history walk to $1,600 for the Pack Creek bear flight, with the whale cruise at $107.80 and the helicopter landing at $429 between. The full sorted ladder is in the price list, and the cards are on Juneau tours.
What is the best way to get around Juneau on a budget?
Walking downtown and the $2 Capital Transit bus everywhere the road serves, at $2 cash or $31.50 for a 20-ride app pack, with no day pass. The complete fare sheet and route guide is on getting around Juneau.
How much does it cost to see the Mendenhall Glacier?
The day pass is $5 per person from 1 May to 30 September, ages 15 and under free, and the $2 bus each way makes the frugal visit about $9 before food. On a short port call a shuttle tour may beat the bus's five-hour round trip; the trade is worked through on the budget table.
What is the typical budget for a trip to Alaska that includes Juneau?
No official per-day figure exists for Juneau itself, and third-party averages are estimates rather than published rates. What this page can price is the day at three budgets, from about $13 to over $1,000 a head, in the budget table.
Juneau Prices, on Video
Three clips on what money buys here, from the grocery store to the fast-food menu.
Visiting the World's SMALLEST Costco in Juneau, Alaska!
The Juneau grocery experience firsthand, the ground truth behind the island premium.
Video: LeggLifeALASKA Fast Food Prices $$$ | The HIGH Cost of Fast Food 2025
Menu prices filmed at the counter, a rare on-the-record look at Alaska food costs.
Video: This Alaska LifeThe REAL Cost of Living In Alaska (Housing, Groceries, Utilities)
The statewide cost picture that frames why Juneau prices what it does.
Video: Living AlaskaVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure