Juneau Fishing Charters: What You Catch, What It Costs, the Licence
Juneau fishing charters work the same protected waters the locals do, and a half-day on the water usually means salmon, sometimes halibut, and always rain gear. Juneau's charter fleet fishes the same cold water the whale boats do, but with a rod in your hand and a cooler at your feet. The fishable prizes are the five species of Pacific salmon, which pass through local waters in runs from early summer into September, and Pacific halibut, which live on deeper grounds further offshore. This page covers what a charter day looks like, what the state of Alaska requires you to buy before you drop a line, how half-day and full-day trips differ, what happens to your catch after the boat docks, and the honest limits of what anyone publishes about price. The tour inventory around it lives on the Juneau tours hub, and the same water seen through a different lens is on the whale watching page. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together. The Alaska Department of Fish and Game licences and permits page, the state authority that sells the sport fishing licence every charter angler must hold. Charter operators do not publish a consolidated price list; the state's price list page prints the licence figures
Quick answer What you catch, what you must buy, and what a half day costs, in three lines
A Juneau fishing charter puts you on a six-pack boat (six anglers maximum by the DMO's description) for salmon in the runs from early summer into September, or halibut on deeper grounds further out. Every angler 16 or older must hold an Alaska sport fishing licence from the Alaska Department of Fish and Game; the state sells it, charters provide the gear, and a nonresident 1-day licence is $15.00 on ADF&G's price list.
Key takeaways
- The shortest bookable version is the 3-hour guided fishing tour at $177.45, rated 4.8, with gear, waders, transfers from the cruise ports and refreshments included per its listing.
- Buy the licence before you board: ADF&G sells licences online at the state licence portal and prints its price list at the department's licence page.
- Your fish goes in a box, not a cooler on the plane: Juneau processors vacuum-pack, freeze and ship your catch home, a service the DMO describes on its fishing page. The full fish-logistics picture is in our section below.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Charter departures | Not stated centrally–Not stated centrally — Departure times are set per charter and per date; the platform listing shows times only after a date is chosen. Juneau's DMO describes full- and half-day formats without printing hours |
|---|
Closed Not stated. Charters run through the visitor season and weather days are handled by each operator's cancellation policy, not a published calendar
Admission
- Adult
- Not stated per charter listing; tour cards carry listed prices. [The guided fishing tour on this page](#tour-17) lists at $177.45 for 3 hours
- Reduced
- Not stated. Children under 6 are excluded from the tour card on this page per its listing
- Free
- Nothing is free on the water: the state sport fishing licence is a legal requirement for anglers 16 and over, and one listing on our site states its licence-plus-king-stamp bundle at $30 for guests 16 and older. ADF&G's own price list shows a nonresident 1-day sport fishing licence at $15.00
Planning it
- Time needed
- Half-day is the standard visitor format: the tour card here runs 3 hours door to door. Juneau's DMO describes both half- and full-day charters without publishing times
- Book ahead
- Recommended — a few days
- Address
- Charters depart from the Juneau waterfront and cruise-ship docks; the tour card on this page states its meeting point as underneath the Goldbelt Tramway cables, 490 S Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
What a Juneau Fishing Day Costs
The state licence is the one fixed price in the picture, so it anchors this table. Everything else on the water is a listed tour price, and Juneau's charter operators do not publish a consolidated rate card; the figures here are the ADF&G printed price list and the current platform listings, both.
Are you buying a licence, a boat seat, or both? The state sells the first, the charter sells the second, and the two transactions are separate on every listing we read.
| Item | Price | Who sells it | What it covers | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresident 1-day sport fishing licenceEvery cruise visitor fishing a single day, which is most charter customers | $15.00 | Alaska Department of Fish and Game, online or from your charter captain per the DMO | The legal right to sport fish in Alaska for one day; required for anglers 16 and older | Official site |
| Nonresident 3-day sport fishing licenceVisitors fishing on more than one day of an Alaska itinerary | $30.00 | Alaska Department of Fish and Game | Three days of sport fishing; relevant if Juneau is one stop of a longer Alaska trip | Official site |
| Nonresident King Salmon stamp, annualAnglers who specifically want to retain a king salmon; not needed for pink, chum, coho or sockeye | $100.00 | Alaska Department of Fish and Game | Required to keep king salmon in addition to the licence; optional if you are not targeting kings | Official site |
| Guided fishing tour with refreshments, 3 hoursCruise-day anglers who want everything arranged except the licence itself | $177.45 | Platform listing (REEL1 LLC) | Transfers from the cruise ports, pole, tackle, lures, waders, guide, light refreshments; licence NOT included, the listing requires it bought before the trip | Check Availability |
The licence rows are the state's own printed prices, not our figures, read from the ADF&G licence and tag pricing list. One listing on this site bundles licence plus king salmon stamp at $30 for guests 16 and older; that is an operator bundle, not the state price. No Juneau charter operator publishes a full-day rate in any official source we can cite, so no full-day row appears here.
The Bookable Fishing Trip on This Site
One charter listing currently groups here,. It is a shore-and-creek style guided trip rather than an offshore halibut run, which is exactly what fits a 3-hour port call; what the difference means is in the half-day versus full-day section.
from $177.45
Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
What You Catch: the Salmon Runs and the Halibut Grounds
Two different fisheries, two different days on the water. Which one your charter is selling decides where the boat goes and what the month needs to be.
Salmon are the headline and the reason the state prints five species on every licence form: king (Chinook), coho (silver), sockeye (red), pink (humpy) and chum. Juneau's DMO frames it as the local religion, with calendars marked by tidal schedules and salmon migrations, and the fish move through local waters in pulses from early summer into the autumn. The hatchery that stocks the fishery is local: the Macaulay Salmon Hatchery incubates, rears and releases chum, Chinook and coho, and the DMO notes the Chinook and coho were initially produced for the Juneau sportfishing fleets, which is a polite way of saying the fish you catch near town were partly put there on purpose.
- Kings and cohos are the hatchery-backed sport species in Juneau waters per the DMO's hatchery page.
- Salmon fishing is close-in water: rivers, creeks and nearshore lines, which is why it fits a short charter day.
- The visitor season for salmon runs aligns with July to September, the months the Macaulay hatchery's returning fish concentrate; the DMO does not print a month-by-month run chart, and we will not invent one.
Halibut: the other fish, the longer day
Halibut are bottom fish on offshore banks, and getting to them is a matter of miles: the grounds lie further out than the salmon water, which is why a halibut day eats more of your schedule than a salmon morning. The DMO's fishing page sets out the regulatory frame that every charter operates inside, and it is worth knowing before you book because it shapes what you can bring home: the 2024 regulations it quotes limit halibut charter sportfishing participants to one fish under 40 inches through 14 July, or 36 inches on or after 15 July, or one fish over 80 inches per day, with Fridays closed to halibut retention from 19 July to 13 September. For scale, the same page sizes a 40-inch halibut around 22 pounds dressed and an 80-inch fish around 208 pounds.
None of the operators we can cite publishes its halibut run duration; the honest statement is that halibut are a year-round bottom fishery offshore and a charter-day question of distance, not season.
Half-Day or Full-Day: What the Hours Actually Buy
The format is the fork in the road. It decides the water you reach, the fish you can target and the price bracket you land in.
Juneau's DMO describes the market as full- and half-day charters carrying no more than six people, sized so every passenger gets plenty of rod time. The half-day is the cruise-port product: the 3-hour guided fishing tour on this page leaves from under the Goldbelt Tramway cables, 15 minutes by van each way per its published itinerary, and spends about two and a half hours fishing for all five salmon species or Dolly Varden in rugged creek-and-shore terrain. It is built to fit between a ship's arrival and its all-aboard, and it excludes children under 6 and anyone with mobility impairments per the listing, which tells you the terrain is terrain.
| Format | Water you reach | Realistic target | Fits a cruise day? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Half-day (about 3 hours, the tour on this page) | Nearshore creeks and shoreline runs, 15 minutes from the docks | Salmon and Dolly Varden; the listing's stated targets | Yes, by design; door to door inside a port call |
| Full-day (format per the DMO; no operator publishes hours or rates) | Offshore banks and deeper water | Halibut and mixed bags, subject to the size and day limits in the regulations | Only if your ship stays late; check the all-aboard time before committing |
Which one we would book
For a cruise day, the half-day, without hesitation: it is the only format that fits the port call with margin, and the six-passenger cap means you are not fighting a rail. For an overnight visit with a weather window to spare, the full-day halibut run is the fishing you tell people about, but book it knowing that nobody publishes the rate in advance and that Friday halibut retention is closed for part of the season. The listing-level facts for the tour card here cover the half-day completely; the full-day market is a phone-call market, and that is a finding, not a gap in this page.
The Licence: What the State Requires and Where to Buy It
This is the section that saves your day. Fishing without a licence is a state offence, the licence is sold by the state, and no charter we can cite includes it in the boat price.
Alaska requires every sport angler aged 16 or older to hold a state sport fishing licence, and nonresidents pay nonresident rates. The authority is the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, which sells licences through its online store and through vendors; Juneau's DMO adds that you can purchase one from your charter boat captain or at major retail outlets, which in practice means the transaction happens either before you fly or at the dock. The state's printed price list, which we, shows the nonresident 1-day licence at $15.00, 3-day at $30.00, 7-day at $45.00 and 14-day at $75.00, with an annual nonresident licence at $100.00.
Keeping a king salmon requires an additional stamp: the nonresident annual King Salmon stamp is $100.00, and there is no short-term king stamp on the state's list.
- Licence required: all anglers 16 and older, resident and nonresident alike (ADF&G).
- Nonresident 1-day: $15.00; 3-day: $30.00; 7-day: $45.00; annual: $100.00 (ADF&G price list).
- King Salmon stamp, nonresident annual: $100.00, needed only to keep kings (ADF&G price list).
- The 3-hour tour on this page states its own bundle in the listing: an Alaskan fishing licence and a king salmon stamp are required for all guests 16+, and that operator's licence-plus-stamp price is $30.
- Buy online ahead at the ADF&G store or on the day from your captain per the DMO; the licence page to check before you travel is the department's licences and permits portal.
Why the operator bundle and the state price differ
The listing on this page prices licence plus king stamp together at $30 for guests 16 and older. The state's own 1-day licence is $15.00, and the state sells its king stamp annually rather than daily, which is the gap the operator bundle is filling: it is a convenience product that adds a state stamp to a day licence and rounds the arithmetic for a cruise crowd. We print both sets of numbers rather than choosing between them, because the honest position is that the state's price list and the operator's bundle are different products sold under different rules, and only the state's is law.
What Happens to the Fish: Processing and Shipping Home
You cannot take a cooler of salmon onto an aircraft as hand luggage, so the charter day ends at a processor, not the dock. Here is how the chain works and what nobody publishes about it.
Juneau's DMO describes the system directly: once you fill your cooler, you drop off your fish at one of Juneau's fish processors, where they will process and ship it to you once you return home. In practice that means the processing houses vacuum-pack, freeze and box your catch, and freight it to your door days or weeks after you have flown home; the DMO calls it fresh from Alaska waters to home plate. What the official sources do not publish is the price of that service: neither the DMO nor any operator page we can cite prints per-pound processing rates, shipping boxes or freight costs, and rates vary by processor and by weight.
Treat the shipping fee as a real budget line you will meet at the counter, ask your captain which processor they use before you book, and get the box details in writing on the day.
- The charter bleeds and ices your catch on board; ask at booking if that is not stated.
- You carry the fish from the dock to the processor; some operators handle it, and the listing will say.
- The processor vacuum-packs, flash-freezes and boxes it, then ships it freight; costs are not published by any source we can cite.
- Airline rules, not Juneau rules, decide whether a boxed catch can travel with you; shipped freight avoids the question entirely.
Gear, Clothing and Seasickness: What You Bring Versus What the Boat Provides
Charter fishing is a gear-included sport in Juneau, which is fortunate, because airline baggage fees do not cover rod tubes.
The charter provides the fishing equipment: the listing on this page states you will be outfitted with a fishing pole, tackle, lures and waders, and Juneau's DMO describes the same gear-included format across the charter fleet. What you bring is you, dressed for it. The same listing is blunt about the environment: Juneau is a temperate rainforest with rugged terrain, so mobility is recommended, and the bring-list is weather-appropriate clothing and comfortable shoes, with shorts and high-heeled shoes on its not-allowed list.
Juneau's climate delivers 230 precipitation days a year and summer highs in the low-to-mid 60s F per the DMO's weather page, so the waterproof layer you would wear for a whale boat is the right default here too.
- Provided: rod, tackle, lures, waders, guide, and on the 3-hour tour light refreshments.
- You bring: layered clothing, rain shell, closed shoes, your fishing licence.
- Seasickness: the salmon formats here are sheltered nearshore water, but any open-water halibut run is real ocean; medicate before boarding.
- Age and mobility: the tour card here excludes children under 6 and people with mobility impairments; check each listing's restrictions before promising the family.
Juneau Fishing Charters Map: Where the Day Starts
Auke Bay, the harbour at the centre of Juneau's small-boat fishing, and the downtown waterfront where cruise-day charters collect their anglers. Auke Bay's coordinates are from the Wikidata record for the settlement; the downtown pin is our placement.
No official source publishes coordinates for the fishing grounds themselves; the salmon creeks and the halibut banks are the operator's knowledge, and that is part of what the charter fee buys.
Next Stop from the Charter Dock
The other ways to spend the same water and the same day, all covered on their own pages.
Whale watching
The whale fleet sails from the same Auke Bay water the fishing boats work, on fixed departures built around the ships. The whale watching hub compares every whale listing, and the season page fixes the month.
Same docks, different boatKayaking and canoeing
Mendenhall Lake canoes and small-group sea kayaks, with dry suits and instruction included per the listings. The kayaking and canoeing page compares all three paddling tours.
The human-powered version of the same dayJuneau tours
Every tour the site carries, from helicopter landings to the brewery run, with prices and review counts. The Juneau tours hub is the page to scan before you commit a port day.
The full inventoryJuneau Fishing Charter Questions
Do I need a fishing licence for a Juneau charter?
Yes, if you are 16 or older. Alaska requires every sport angler 16 and older to hold a state sport fishing licence, and the charter does not include it: the listing on this page states the licence must be purchased by all guests 16+ before the trip, and the DMO says you can buy one from your charter captain or at major retail outlets. The state sells them online at the ADF&G store, and a nonresident 1-day licence is $15.00 on the department's printed price list.
What fish will I catch on a Juneau fishing charter?
Salmon and halibut are the two answers, and the format decides which. Half-day trips fish the nearshore salmon water: the tour on this page targets all five species of Pacific salmon or Dolly Varden, and the local hatchery stocks Chinook and coho specifically for the Juneau sport fishery. Halibut live on grounds further offshore, so they belong to longer charters, and the state's regulations cap what you can keep: one halibut under 40 inches through 14 July or 36 inches from 15 July, or one over 80 inches, with Fridays closed to halibut retention from 19 July to 13 September per the DMO.
When is salmon fishing season in Juneau?
The visitor-facing answer is July to September, when the runs that the Macaulay hatchery's returning fish feed concentrate in local waters; the Chinook and coho it releases were produced for the Juneau sport fishery per the DMO. What nobody official publishes is a month-by-month run calendar with open and close dates for each species, and we will not print one. Book inside the cruise season and the fishery will be live; target a specific species and ask the operator directly what is running that week.
How much does a Juneau fishing charter cost?
No Juneau charter operator publishes a rate card in any official source we can cite, so the honest answer is that listed tour prices are the only figures we print. The 3-hour guided fishing tour on this page lists at $177.45 per person, rated 4.8. The state licence is the one fixed, published price: $15.00 for a nonresident 1-day licence on the ADF&G price list, plus a $100.00 nonresident annual King Salmon stamp if you want to keep kings.
What happens to the fish I catch?
You bleed and ice it on the boat, then drop it at a Juneau fish processor, which the DMO describes directly: the processor will process and ship it to you once you return home, vacuum-packed, frozen and freighted. What no official source publishes is the cost of that processing and shipping, and it is a real budget line, so ask your captain which processor they use and get the price at the counter on the day.
Will I get seasick on a Juneau fishing charter?
It depends on which water the charter fishes. The salmon formats, including the 3-hour tour on this page, work sheltered nearshore and creek water, and its 15-minute van transfers per the published itinerary mean almost none of the day is open ocean. A full-day halibut run crosses real water to the banks, and that is where seasickness happens. Juneau's weather page counts 230 precipitation days a year, so swells and rain are normal; if you are motion-sensitive, take medication before boarding rather than at the dock.
Can kids go on a Juneau fishing charter?
On the tour card here, from age 6: the listing excludes children under 6, along with people with mobility impairments, and requires the state licence from age 16. The state's licence rules, not the operator's, draw the age line for fishing itself: under 16s fish without a licence. The listing-level restrictions for every tour on the site are printed on the Juneau tours hub before you pay.
Do charters provide fishing gear in Juneau?
Yes. The listing on this page states you will be set up with a fishing pole, tackle, lures and waders, and the DMO describes the same gear-included format across the fleet, with Coast Guard licensed captains on full- and half-day boats capped at six anglers. Bring only clothing: layered, waterproof, closed shoes, and the licence. One listing note worth planning around: Juneau is a temperate rainforest with rugged terrain per the same listing, so expect to move over ground, not sit in a chair.
Juneau Fishing Charters on Film
Three films from the fleet: what a Juneau charter day actually looks like, the salmon and halibut water, and a charter operator at work.
What It's REALLY LIKE Fishing in Juneau, Alaska
A first-person account of a Juneau fishing day, from gear-up to the fish on the line, closest to what a charter customer actually experiences.
Video: KAHPAwesome Salmon Fishing with Rum Runner Charters ~ Juneau Alaska
Salmon fishing on a Juneau charter boat, from an operator's own footage; useful for seeing the water and the rail space you are booking.
Video: Rum Runner ChartersHalibut Charter Fishing in Alaska - BIGGEST Halibut I've ever caught
What the offshore halibut version of the day looks like, including the size of fish the regulations in our table are written around.
Video: KadenVentures UNCUTVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure