Taku Glacier: the Ice You Land On, and the Lodge at Its Face
Taku is the glacier Juneau flies to. It is the largest outlet glacier of the Juneau Icefield, the 1,500-square-mile ice mass that runs 90 miles northwest to Skagway, and it is the rare glacier with a growth story: 4,845 feet thick and advancing 56 feet per year since 1988 by the figures Juneau's official visitor organisation prints. You cannot drive to it, which is the point. The classic visit is the Wings Airways flight and feast: a De Havilland Otter floatplane from the Juneau waterfront, over five named glaciers, down onto the Taku River, and a grilled wild salmon lunch at the Taku Glacier Lodge, a 1923 hunting and fishing lodge sitting across from the Hole-in-the-Wall glacier. This page covers the glacier itself, the advance story that makes it scientifically famous, what the lodge day actually includes, and how it compares with the other ways to see the Icefield. The seaplane inventory around it lives on the flightseeing page, and the helicopter alternative is on the helicopter glacier tours page. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together. Travel Juneau's glacier sightseeing page, the official DMO source for the Taku figures on this page (the Icefield's extent, the glacier's 4,845-foot thickness and its 56 feet per year advance since 1988). The lodge and the flight product are sold by the operator, not by the DMO
Quick answer What Taku is, why it is famous, and what the flight and feast costs, in three lines
Taku Glacier is the largest outlet glacier of the Juneau Icefield, 4,845 feet thick and advancing 56 feet per year since 1988, one of the few glaciers anywhere that is growing. It is reached by floatplane: the classic trip is the 3-hour flight and feast, five glaciers by air, then grilled wild salmon at the 1923 Taku Glacier Lodge on the Taku River, listed at $532 per person.
Key takeaways
- The bookable version is the Taku Glacier Lodge 5-glacier flight and feast: $532, rated 4.9, window seat guaranteed, free cancellation to 24 hours per the listing.
- Taku's fame is its advance: the DMO prints 4,845 feet of thickness and 56 feet per year of growth since 1988, against a field of retreating neighbours, and the pilot narrates the story in the air. The advance section has the numbers.
- If $532 is past the budget, the same aircraft and the same five glaciers fly as the flight-only seaplane tour at $382.66; the trade is the lodge feast, and the pairing section weighs it.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Flight and feast season, visitor season | Not stated centrally–Not stated centrally — The tour card on this page runs 3 hours; departure times appear at booking. The lodge itself has no public walk-in hours: everything arrives by floatplane |
|---|
Closed Not stated. Flights run through the visitor season weather permitting; the operator re-books or refunds when it cancels, per the listing's weather note
Admission
- Adult
- [The 5-glacier flight and feast](#tour-13) lists at $532 per person, 3 hours, per the platform listing
- Reduced
- Not stated on the listing; it prices a single adult fare
- Free
- Nothing on this page is free: the glacier, the river and the lodge are reachable only by air, and every way of seeing them is a paid flight product
Planning it
- Time needed
- 3 hours door to door for the flight and feast per the listing: the flight out, the feast and the trails or hearth at the lodge, and the return flyby
- Book ahead
- Essential — weeks ahead
- Address
- Taku Glacier Lodge sits on the Taku River across from the Hole-in-the-Wall glacier, reachable only by floatplane; flights depart from the Juneau waterfront downtown. No street address exists for the lodge on any official page we read
Ways to See Taku, Priced
Every way onto or over the Taku is a paid flight product, so this table is the whole market: the flight-and-feast that lands, the flight-only seaplane that does not, and the helicopter option that lands on ice elsewhere on the Icefield. Platform prices; no official body publishes Taku pricing.
Do you want to land at the lodge or stay in the air? The $149 gap between the feast and the flight-only tour is the price of grilled salmon on a glacier lawn.
| Product | Price | Time | What it covers | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taku Glacier Lodge 5-glacier flight and feastVisitors who want the landing, the lodge and the meal, not just the view; the classic Taku day | $532 | 3 hours | De Havilland Otter floatplane over Norris, East Twin, West Twin, Hole-in-the-Wall and Taku glaciers, landing on the Taku River at the 1923 lodge; grilled salmon feast, forest trails or the hearth, return flyby | Check Availability |
| 5-glacier flightseeing by seaplane, no landingBudget-conscious flightseers and port days too short for the feast | $382.66 | 40 minutes | The same Icefield air tour over five glaciers with a window seat, flying from the Juneau waterfront without the lodge stop | Check Availability |
| Helicopter glacier landing tourVisitors who want to stand on glacier ice rather than dine beside it | $429 | Not stated on the listing | Helicopter flight over the Icefield with a landing on the ice itself for a walk; Taku itself is the seaplane products' destination, this lands elsewhere on the field | Check Availability |
Prices are the platform listings in US dollars. The five named glaciers on the flight-and-feast row are the listing's own text. No landing product on Taku itself outside the lodge flight appears in the current inventory, and the lodge has no walk-in access: the flight is the only door.
The Taku Flight and Its Siblings
The flight-and-feast is the page's product, with the two alternatives that share its sky,. Which suits which traveller is worked out in the pairing section.
from $532
from $382.66
from $429
Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
What Taku Glacier Is: the Icefield's Largest Outlet
The basic geography first, because the numbers here are the reason pilots narrate this particular flight.
The Juneau Icefield covers more than 1,500 square miles and runs 90 miles northwest to Skagway per Juneau's official visitor organisation, and Taku is its largest outlet glacier, the arm of the field that drains toward the coast. It flows into the Taku River, the waterway the floatplanes land on beside the lodge, across from the separate Hole-in-the-Wall glacier face. The DMO prints the two figures that define it: 4,845 feet thick, which is more than 15 times the height of the cliff face you see from the air, and an advance of 56 feet per year since 1988.
Those numbers make Taku both the biggest and the most anomalous glacier in the local field, and the advance is what the section that follows on this page is about.
- Largest outlet of the Juneau Icefield, a field of more than 1,500 square miles running to Skagway (DMO).
- 4,845 feet thick (DMO).
- Advancing 56 feet per year since 1988 (DMO).
- Flows to the Taku River, where the floatplanes touch down; the lodge sits across from Hole-in-the-Wall, a separate glacier face.
The Taku River below the ice
The Taku River is the glacier's plumbing and the flight's runway: a broad, braided, glacially fed waterway that carries the melt from the field to the sea near the Alaska-British Columbia border. The lodge sits on its bank, and the landing is the part of the day passengers remember: the Otter steps onto the river, glides to the shingle bank, and the lawn, the hearth-smoke and the glacier wall across the water are suddenly at walking pace. The river is also the reason the site works as a runway, which is the whole history of the place in one sentence; no road has ever reached it, and the bush pilots who pioneered the route in the middle of the last century are part of the lodge's table talk, alongside the story of Mary Joyce and her 1,000-mile dogsled journey that the lodge's staff tell per the listing.
The Advance Story: One of the Few Glaciers That Grows
Most glaciers in Alaska retreat. Taku pushes forward, and the contrast is the most interesting 60 seconds of the flight.
Taku has advanced 56 feet per year since 1988 by the DMO's figure, which puts it in the tiny company of advancing glaciers in a warming world, and in a strange local position too: its neighbours on the same Icefield, the ones the same flight passes, have been retreating for decades. The pilot's narration leans on exactly that contrast, and the flight-and-feast listing calls Taku the mighty, ever-advancing Taku Glacier in its own copy. The scientific backstory is longer than the flight: Taku spent the 20th century as Southeast Alaska's research benchmark, and its tidewater connection closed in the mid-20th century, after which the glacier pushed its terminal moraine shoal together and switched into its present advance.
What the official pages we can cite print is the current figure, 56 feet a year since 1988, and that is what this page carries.
- The number to remember: 56 feet of advance per year since 1988 (DMO).
- The context to remember: thickness of 4,845 feet, the Icefield's largest outlet, growing while most of the field retreats (DMO).
- The view to match: on the flight in, the glacier's terminal lobe and its moraine are the scenery the narration points at.
- The honest limit: no official page prints a future projection or a current-year figure, and we will not extrapolate one.
Taku Glacier Lodge: the 1923 Lodge and the Feast
The landing is the product. Here is what the day at the lodge actually consists of, from the aircraft down to the menu.
The lodge was built in 1923, per the flight-and-feast listing's own description, as a hunting and fishing lodge on the Taku River, and it is now the setting Juneau sells as its only glacier-view dining in Southeast Alaska. The flight in is a classic De Havilland Otter floatplane from the Juneau waterfront with a guaranteed window seat for every passenger and narrated commentary through individual headsets, over five named glaciers: Norris, East Twin, West Twin, Hole-in-the-Wall and Taku itself. On the ground the day splits three ways per the listing: the feast, a guided nature walk on the forested trails, or a hot drink by the stone hearth on the porch, with the glacier face across the river the whole time.
- The flight: Otter floatplane, waterfront departure, five glaciers, window seat guaranteed, headset narration.
- The feast: grilled salmon over an open fire, homemade baked beans, coleslaw, pioneer fruit compote, herb biscuits, sourdough bread and ginger cookies, with glacier-ice-chilled drinks, per the listing.
- The grounds: forested trails on a guided nature walk, or the hearth and the porch benches facing the ice.
- The wildlife clause the listing itself prints: the salmon's scent can draw curious black bears to the edge of the lawn.
The lodge year, and what nobody publishes
The lodge opens with the flight season and closes with it, because floatplanes are its only road; no official page prints exact opening and closing dates, a capacity or a walk-in price, and we state that plainly rather than filling the gaps. The verified reviews on the current listing, dated July and August 2026, describe a smaller and cosier lodge than photographs suggest, strong food and staff storytelling, and one reviewer noting the flight felt longer than expected, which is a compliment in this market. Ratings sit at 4.9 from 15 reviews, a thin but clean record; the flight-only seaplane product's 26 reviews at 5.0 are the denser data point if review volume drives your booking.
Flight and Feast, or Flight Only: How to Choose, and How It Fits the Day
The $149 question, and the schedule logic around it.
The choice between the $532 flight and feast and the $382.66 flight-only seaplane is a three-hour versus 40-minute decision as much as a money one. The feast version eats most of a port day: three hours door to door, plus the margin any floatplane product needs against weather, which is why it suits overnight visitors and cruise days with late sailings. The flight-only version is the port-day shape: 40 minutes in the air, and the flightseeing page shows what else runs in the same window.
Between them sits the helicopter at $429, which trades the lodge for standing on ice, a different experience sold on the helicopter glacier tours page.
| If your day looks like | Book | Why | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| A cruise day with a normal all-aboard time | Flight-only seaplane, $382.66 | 40 minutes fits a port call with weather margin to spare | No lodge, no feast, no landing |
| An overnight visit or a late-sailing port day | Flight and feast, $532 | The full three hours: landing, lodge, salmon, trails | Half a day committed, and a weather bet on top |
| Ice underfoot is the dream | Helicopter landing, $429 | Boots on glacier ice with a pilot-guide | The lodge and the river landing are not part of it |
Weather, and what a cancelled flight does
Every product on this page is a flight first, and flights here cancel for weather the boats do not: fog on the field, low ceiling over the ice, wind on the river. The listing's weather note is the standard Juneau one, weather-dependent with operators re-booking or refunding when they cancel, and free cancellation runs to 24 hours on your side. Book the earliest flight of your day that you can live with, because a morning slot that weather moves still has an afternoon to land in; a 3pm feast that cancels has nothing. The best time to visit page puts the weather pattern in months.
Taku Glacier Map: the River, the Lodge, the Flight Path
The Taku drainage south-east of town: the glacier, the approximate lodge position on the river, and downtown for scale. The glacier's coordinates are from its Wikidata record; the lodge and downtown pins are our placement.
The flight path runs north-west along the Icefield's edge past the Twin glaciers and Norris before turning into the Taku valley; the exact routing is the pilot's, chosen daily for weather, and no official source publishes it as a line.
Pages That Complete the Icefield
The other faces of the same ice mass, each on its own page.
Flightseeing
Every seaplane tour in the inventory, including the flight-only version of the Taku run. The flightseeing page is where the air-first comparison lives.
The air product familyHelicopter glacier tours
Helicopter flights with landings on the ice itself, plus the dogsled add-on. The helicopter page compares landing products that fly from the same heliport.
The other way to landGlaciers
Mendenhall, Taku, Tracy Arm and the rest of the field compared. The glaciers hub ranks the ways to see ice by time and money.
The whole ice inventoryTaku Glacier Questions
How do you get to Taku Glacier?
By air, and only by air. The glacier drains to the Taku River in country with no road access, and the only door to the lodge on its bank is a floatplane: the flight-and-feast product departs the Juneau waterfront by De Havilland Otter, crosses the Icefield's edge, and lands on the river at the lodge. No official source describes any road, trail or boat access, and none exists for visitors.
Why is Taku Glacier famous?
Because it is growing while almost everything around it shrinks. The DMO's figures make the case: 4,845 feet thick, the largest outlet of the Juneau Icefield, advancing 56 feet per year since 1988. In a field of retreating neighbours and a state of retreating ice, that advance is the reason pilots single Taku out on the narration and the reason scientists studied it as a benchmark through the 20th century.
What is included in the Taku Glacier Lodge flight and feast?
Per the listing: the floatplane flight over five named glaciers (Norris, East Twin, West Twin, Hole-in-the-Wall and Taku), a guaranteed window seat with headset narration, the river landing at the lodge, a grilled wild salmon feast with baked beans, coleslaw, pioneer fruit compote, herb biscuits, sourdough and ginger cookies, glacier-ice-chilled drinks, and then your choice of a guided forest nature walk or the hearth before the return flyby. The whole product runs 3 hours and lists at $532.
How much does the Taku Glacier flight cost?
The flight and feast lists at $532 per person for 3 hours, read from its platform listing. The flight-only five-glacier seaplane is $382.66 for 40 minutes, and the helicopter glacier landing is $429. No official body publishes Taku pricing: the lodge is reachable only through these flight products, which is why the platform listings are the only printed figures.
When was Taku Glacier Lodge built?
In 1923, per the flight-and-feast listing's own description of the lodge. It began as a hunting and fishing lodge on the Taku River and now serves as the flight-and-feast destination, across the river from the Hole-in-the-Wall glacier face. No official page carries a fuller building history, so this page prints the listing's date and no more.
Is the Taku flight worth it over the flight-only tour?
If the lodge meal and the landing matter to you, yes: the $149.34 difference over the flight-only seaplane buys three hours instead of 40 minutes, the river landing, the 1923 lodge and the grilled salmon feast. If you are on a standard cruise day with a mid-afternoon all-aboard, the flight-only tour is the rational pick, because it fits a port call with the weather margin floatplanes need. Both fly the same five glaciers and both guarantee a window seat.
What happens if the weather cancels my Taku flight?
The operator re-books or refunds: the listing's weather note is the standard Juneau one, weather-dependent with re-booking or refund when the operator cancels, and your own free cancellation runs to 24 hours before departure. Fog and low ceiling over the ice are the ordinary culprits, not rain. Book the earliest slot your day allows, so a moved flight has a later same-day landing to fall into.
Are there bears at Taku Glacier Lodge?
Possibly, and the listing says so itself: the scent of the open-fire salmon can draw curious black bears to the edge of the lawn, which the staff manage as part of the day. The lodge has run this service for decades on the same riverbank, the guides handle wildlife as it appears, and the reviews we read on the current listing treat the possibility as atmosphere rather than a problem. You are never walking alone: the forested trails are guided.
Taku Glacier on Film
Three films from the Taku air route: the flight-and-feast day, the floatplane line over the glaciers, and the lodge itself.
Breathtaking Flight over 6 Glaciers Juneau, Alaska to Enchanted Taku Glacier Lodge
The full flight to Taku Lodge, glaciers unfolding beneath the Otter, closest to what the $532 product delivers.
Video: mausgechecktWings Airways Taku Lodge & Seaplane Glacier Tour (Juneau, Alaska)
The Wings Airways version of the day, from waterfront takeoff to the lodge lawn, useful for seeing the aircraft and the landing.
Video: Andrew Choi AdventuresTaku Lodge Floatplane Trip in Juneau, Alaska
A visitor's floatplane trip to Taku Lodge, including the feast and the grounds, the ground-level half of the flight-and-feast.
Video: 4eversportsVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure